Touch Us with Conviction

I’ve been a subscriber to David Wilkerson’s daily devotional e-mail for a long time. When I opened my inbox this morning, the subject line simply read, “Press Release.”

My jaw dropped when I read that he had passed away yesterday. After a few more clicks, I learned that he had died in a car accident in Texas. His wife remains in critical condition, according to what I read.

Everyone who has ever encountered David Wilkerson must have their own story of how this man affected them. His message demanded a response because it focused, with laser-like precision, on Christ.

Mine began when I was just a little boy. I remember seeing his newsletters around the house. My mom was on the mailing list. I think someone from church introduced them to her. At some point I started reading them, though I’m sure I understood very little of the message at that age. But I remember very clearly the colorful titles and pull quotes. In my childlike vision, it almost seemed as if righteous flames somehow jumped off those pages. I sensed power. And everything was drenched in earnestness and passion.

Those messages affected my concept about the power of the printed word. There was something in his words, and in how he addressed others, that echoed the voice of Christ.

Maybe I could comprehend a vague concept of power as a boy, but I couldn’t fully understand the power of love and forgiveness yet. As I’ve grown older, however, I’ve discovered this message rests at the center of all of his conviction. He believes in the miraculous power of the New Covenant, which was made possible by the blood of Christ.

When I read The New Covenant Unveiled, it resonated with me as one the most important books of my personal journey.

I’ve mentioned in another post that I’ve used his annual Daily Promise Calendar for several years. Here’s the verse he had marked for today:

“The Lord is good to all,
And His mercies are over all His works.
All Your works shall give thanks to You, O Lord,
And Your godly ones shall bless You.”
Psalm 145: 8, 9

Yes, I am heavy-hearted today. I’m sure a lot of thoughts and feelings are wrapped up in his passing — ideas and thoughts that I can’t articulate yet. But for now, these verses capture much of what the Holy Spirit prompted this man to share through his ministry.

This man’s heart burned with a Holy Ghost conviction that no one grow satisfied with a shallow vision of God. “The Lord is good to all,” his ministry echoed. Truly, his heart’s cry was that everyone discover the hidden depth of that promise.

In these last days, Jesus, touch us with fresh conviction.

(Note: If your longing for a fresh touch, waste no time in clicking a trip to the NYC’s Times Square Church webpage to listen to sermons from David Wilkerson. God has used this voice to stir the souls of thousands.)

3 thoughts on “Touch Us with Conviction

  1. You said it best: “His words always penetrated the heart, leaving us as the reader transformed in a deeper relationship with Christ. ” In spirit, love and truth, he always aimed for the heart, desiring honest and holy transformation among unbelievers and church-goers alike. And those words of David’s that he spoke as a refrain throughout his entire ministry — “Remember, you are His beloved!” — there is so much truth in them that we desperately need to experience at our deepest core.

  2. I think it no coincidence that in his final day’s blog on April 27th he left these prophetic words:

    To those going through the valley and shadow of death, hear this word: Weeping will last through some dark, awful nights—and in that darkness you will soon hear the Father whisper, “I am with you. I cannot tell you why right now, but one day it will all make sense. You will see it was all part of my plan. It was no accident. It was no failure on your part. Hold fast. Let me embrace you in your hour of pain.”

    Beloved, God has never failed to act but in goodness and love. When all means fail—his love prevails. Hold fast to your faith. Stand fast in his Word. There is no other hope in this world.

  3. So sad. I too remember reading and re-reading his newsletters-mostly throughout my highschool and college years. His words always penetrated the heart, leaving us as the reader transformed in a deeper relationship with Christ. What a rich spiritual heritage and a legacy of faith he has bequeathed and blessed us with. Hebrews 12:1-2 “Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith…” I can hear him now, “Remember you are His beloved!”

Leave a Comment ...

