The Weight of a Good Word

20110505-114015.jpg

Tonight, I met one of my literary superheroes. Garrison Keillor. After my friend mentioned to him that I, too, had been an English major, he looked into my eyes and pressed a little further. “What do you do?” he wanted to know.

“I teach.”

“What do you teach?”

“English.”

“Who do you teach to?” he persisted.

“High school students.”

And with a soft baritone strand, he added, “Bless your heart.”

A good word commands with the weight of silk, always encouraging us and entangling us into something larger than ourselves.

3 thoughts on “The Weight of a Good Word

Leave a Comment ...

