Lord, I’m Listening to You, Too.

Lately, my wife and I have listened to problems fall down and stack up around us like walls of Lego blocks. So if we can’t see over them right now, could we at least listen to something different?

Like the blues. But let’s do something synthesized and danceable please. You know, something smooth — with big, shiny wheels to make us move.

And then my old band comes to the rescue with something unexpected.

“Some days are dry, some days are leaky
Some days come clean, other days are sneaky.
Some days take less, but most days take more”

Some Days Are Better Than Others.

Yes, Bono, that’s about right: Some days are better than others. It’s a good song. Minus the pain, frustration and disappointment, of course.

Like when the project funding dries up, suddenly, and leaves your wife looking for new work. A month before Christmas. That’s right. “Some days are bouncers that won’t let you in.”

Tonight, though, a three year-old manages to squeeze in. He stands in front of us, at the Lego table, with his back to us. He’s working with his own mess of colored bricks, though his long brown curls don’t move an inch. With the music playing over his head, he finally begins to ad lib.

“Every day is a good day because Jesus is alive,” he sings.

His gentle voice is unexpected, moving me in a new direction.

To stop my music. And listen.

24 thoughts on “Lord, I’m Listening to You, Too.

  1. Thanks Matt, your perspective is always so helpful. You reminded me again that life is not always a cafeteria, we don’t get to chose, but in Him we are always well fed. Blessings to you.

  2. Wow. I can see this. The bright Legos, the curly haired son, the heaviness of your heart. And then He shows up. Dressed in a song from your son. Beautiful.
    You commented before me on another blog, I clicked over and found some real beauty here. Glad to *meet* you.

    • Great to meet you, Danelle. Thanks so much for stopping by today and leaving a comment. It’s always great to meet new people and hear new voices. I really do hope to see you around again soon. Blessings.

  3. Matthew, I’m praying for y’all as God leads you in a new direction. May His grace and peace be prevalent everyday as they were this day through your son.

    • I always seem to get excited about new directions — until God begins putting them into motion. Suddenly, fear wants to steal the show. But this time I’ll choose to keep the door open. Because my little one is right on: “Every day is a good day.”

      Thanks, Jen. Your prayers feel invigorating.

  4. I just love that photograph. And Bono seems to be the prophet of our time. He just kind of tells it like it is.

    Matthew, if you haven’t already, would you consider joining The High Calling Community? This post reminds me so much of our Senior Editor, Marcus Goodyear–have you “met” Marcus yet? He is a lego nut. Your voice would be so welcome over there and we would love to have you. And thanks for visiting my Jesus Smells Like Murphy’s Oil Soap post :). It was nice to see you there.

    • Thanks, Laura. I sent you a message.

      By the way, that kid in that photograph? He is so beautiful. You would love him. “God puts the love in my heart,” he always says, “so I can give it to everyone.”

  5. In music, the silence of the rest is a powerful and necessary part of the composition. Without it, music would instead become a cacophonous mess. The power of God is often like the rest. Emerging from the dominant sounds of day to day life comes the quiet, unassuming, yet powerful voice of God’s all-knowing wisdom. How amazing it must be to know your 3-year old was used as an instrument of God! You are all in my thoughts and prayers!

    • I appreciate this comment very much. I’m thankful for people like you who can open our eyes — and ears — to the truth and beauty contained in God’s creation. His orchestration is always so beautiful, once we find it.

  6. Love the metaphor of choosing what music I will listen to in the midst of so many different lyrics that compete for my attention and loyalty. Love your son’s reminder of the greatest music maker ever. Eucharisteo…thank you for the post. I needed it today as a reminder.

    • Good to hear from you, Jay. I’m so thankful your family is doing all right, all things considered. And then to come home from a car accident to a house without electricity … Grrr.

      But you are right. Eucharisteo! Sometimes it flows smoothly. But sometimes, too, we have to do a little work to unclog the pipes.

      I will keep praying for you and your family. The Holy Spirit is much stronger than Liquid Plummer.

  7. The things we learn from our kids and from our nephews! Kyle played the full song for me – his favorite from Zooropa. The thought of “Sneaky Days” intrigues me…

    • One of the great things about the song is how it ends. The final lyric says, “Some days I hear a voice taking me away to another place.” To me, this made the song even more special because it was the voice of James who interrupted the song — with an echo of the Holy Spirit.

  8. Thanks again, Matthew. Always enjoy reading…I love how our children give us perspective and remind us of God’s love! What wonders and treasures they are! And, what a treasure He is.

    • They do give us perspective, don’t they? Of course, um, the perspective they offer isn’t always so inspirational, is it? I was reminded of this tonight. But I sure love ’em like crazy, anyway!

  9. Great post! I love how kids so often give us perspective. I stopped in to visit from Playdates with God and ended up reading through your eloquent blog. I teach English in a small Christian high school and also write. Blessings!

Leave a Comment ...

